Faithless by Graham Austin-King

The temples of the Forgefather have fallen. The clerics and defenders that could once be found across the nine lands are no more. Priests huddle in the great temple, clinging to the echoes of their lost religion. But the Father has fallen silent. There are none who still hear his voice.

The mines of Aspiration lie far below the temple’s marble halls. Slaves toil in the blackness, striving to earn their way into the church and the light. Wynn has been sold into this fate, traded for a handful of silver. In the depths of the mines, where none dare carry flame, he must meet his tally or die. But there are things that lurk in that darkness, and still darker things within the hearts of men.

When the souls bound to the great forge are released in a failed ritual, one novice flees down into the darkness of the mines. The soulwraiths know only hunger, the risen know only hate. In the blackest depths Kharios must seek a light to combat the darkness which descends.

Faithless

Firstly a big thank you to Graham Austin-King for sending me an arc copy of this book for review.

I initially picked up Faithless just over a month ago and when I did I found myself instantaneously draw into its world due to the intrigue and mystery that grips you from the outset of the book. Unfortunately after that initial read I had to put the book down due to other commitments and I only then got picking it up again a week ago. Upon returning to the book nearly a month after initially picking it up I found myself falling in love with the world all over again and I had not forgotten a single piece of information from that initial read. In a world full of great books I believe it is become more difficult to become memorable to the point where you will always remember a book after reading numerous other books and I can assure you that Faithless accomplish that memorability.

I believe this is in part because of the world Graham has built for this book as it is very clear that he spent a lot of time and effort learning about different aspects of this world from a real world, especially when it comes to the forging of metal and these parts of the book were thoroughly enjoyable to read because of that. Without giving out spoilers there is one subject in this book that Graham covers that we have unfortunately had to deal with in the real world and I have a lot of respect for him for having the courage to cover that subject in Faithless.

There are many books where I have found it difficult to empathize with a character, I believe this is somewhat in part to more books being focused more on a story rather than its characters or simply because we can’t relate with to a character. Graham’s perspective and method by which he creates his characters makes you create a deep connection with each of them which in turn gives you empathy towards them and on certain occasions mimic how they are feeling. After reading Faithless for a short time the book did its first POV switch and as I progressed through the book I discovered that something big would eventually occur. When I eventually came to that point in the book I was absolutely blown away by it, I had gone through numerous scenarios in my head to try and determine what would happen and none of them prepared me for what I read.

There is something truly astounding about Faithless and it is very hard to pin point what exactly that is, it could be the world, characters, suspense or all of the above but all I can is that it’s incredible. I went from only reading a small portion of this to having it read within 5 days as every night upon returning home from work I found myself wanting to instantly pick it up as well as reading late into the night and for me that is very rare.

If you are fan of science fiction or fantasy then I would highly recommend this book, if not then I would still recommend you give it a try as I believe you will still really enjoy it. Over the last number of years I have read many science fiction and fantasy books, many of which have blown me away like this one. However Faithless is one of the most unique, intriguing and dark books I have ever read so I would highly recommend you pick this up.

Leave a Reply

