Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (The Song of the Shattered Sands #1)

Twelve Kings

Before I start my review I would like to take this opportunity to thank Gollancz for sending me a review copy of this book and allowing me to review it for them prior to its release.

What can I say about Twelve Kings in Sharakhai…It is an incredible book that you won’t want to put down and will always leave you wanting more.

From the moment I first read the summary for Twelve Kings in Sharakhai I was instantly hooked and knew I wanted to read this book. I will be the first to admit that I very rarely read books that have female protagonist’s, this isn’t because I don’t like books with female protagonist’s I just haven’t came across many that have gripped me as much as this did.

Ceda’s character is not only very likable and when imagined all the different situations she was facing I always found myself agreeing with the steps she took. Emre on the other hand was also a very likable character but when it came to his decisions I definitely didn’t agree with them. At a whole I enjoyed reading about Ceda and Emre’s budding relationship and this for me this is usually somewhat of a turn off in a book as I usually don’t like reading about love interests, as sometimes it can delude the story but I think love story in this instance is definitely needed as not only does it help develop their characters but also their story and how they become to be who they are by the end of the book.

All the characters within this book bounce of each other very well and the conflicts that are shown clearly outline the type of person they really are.

One aspect that I especially loved in the book was the differing chapters between the past and present as the book progress we slowly but surely more closer and closer to the current without it have felt like you were being bogged down in detail or derailing you from the present day events. The chapters in the past also feel like they are a core part of the book and not just thrown in there for the sake of it as they help you not only understand certain characters more but can also give you hints to the future happenings in the book which only makes you want to read the book more and see if a certain events take place.

The landscape and cities created in this book are second to none and I think the world created is second to none when it comes to world building as I sometimes found myself lost and intrigued in the world and thinking about the culture developed within it.

This book doesn’t have that many fight scenes but I believe these aren’t what make the book truly great, even though the fight scenes created are fantastic and how they unfold is how I would imagine a fight would unfold. There are a lot of fantasy books that need these at their core and wouldn’t be the fantasy book they are without them and this is one aspect of the book that I truly love as it takes all the aspects of a great fantasy books and uses them to their full potential without concentrating on one aspect.

There are a lot of noticeable interests this book and one of the most to me was the twelve kings as I was always very intrigued when we learnt more about them as well as their history.

Even though I have read Twelve Kings in Sharakhai prior to it release I am already highly anticipating the release of the next book.

This book is fantastic and I would highly recommend for anyone who loves fantasy to read this book.

With all this in mind I am going to give this book a resounding high pitched Ravens CAW!!, roughly translated that means a 9 out of 10.

2 responses to “Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (The Song of the Shattered Sands #1)

  1. Brilliant review, this genre is not typically the one that i would read however, this review has made me want to pick up this book!

  2. Pingback: Blood Upon The Sand by Bradley P. Beaulieu – The Bandwagon·

Leave a Reply

