The Desert Spear (Demon Cycle #2)

The Desert Spear

I started on this book straight after I finished The Warded Man and due to the high octane finish The Warded Man have I initially found it difficult to get into this book. This was also due to the fact that approximately 25% of this book tells you about Jardir’s history as well as part of The Warded Mans story from his perspective. Initially I didn’t like reading Jardir’s side story as I really hated him after reading what he did in The Warded Man (don’t wanna give any spoilers), but once I got to know his back story and his versions of the above mentioned events I grew to like him and what I was reading.

One them I continue to enjoy about these books in this inclusion of more demon types and learning about them in the process. In this book we may only get introduced to two new demons but they are the most interesting so far as their abilities are very cool and it allows they to become very deadly when used in cooperation with one another.

This booked flushed out the characters more and helped learn more about them, this is especially true when it comes to Jardir who as I said before I never liked but after reading this book I have some what grown to like him. The same can also be said with regards to Gared because I also hated him in The Warded Man and was hoping he would die but after seeing him grow in this book I am growing to like him more and more.

One of the biggest surprises of this book for me was the development of Renna’s character, as initially I kind of thought okay so where are they taking this character and as things developed certain parts of her story made me kind of angry to see her develop into the person we have at the end of this book was fantastic especially seeing her adjust so well to the world of demon fighting.

This book really steps up the pace of the series with the start of the war between the Krasian’s and Thesan’s and how that develops. While reading this book I expected to see some massive fight scene between the two nations but to have it go more of a diplomatic route intrigued and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing this development over going straight into an all out war.

Like The Warded Man this took me a while to get into this book but once I did it had the seem effect on me as The Warded Man did and I found it very hard to put down. This book is absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoy reading The Warded Man and if you didn’t get hooked on this series from the first book then this book in my opinion will definitely do just that.

With all this taken into consideration I am going to give this book a resounding high pitched CAW!!, roughly translated that means a 9 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

